Call for papers: 17th JAN TINBERGEN EUROPEAN PEACE SCIENCE CONFERENCE 26th-28th June 2017


The 17th Jan Tinbergen European Peace Science Conference, annual meeting of NEPS, will take place at University of Antwerp, Prinsstraat 13, Antwerpen, Belgium, on 26th-28th June 2017. Marijke Verpoorten will be the local host of the conference. The NEPS Lecture will be given by Branislav Slantchev, University of California San Diego.

NEPS welcome presentations that address any issue relating to peace and security broadly defined. They strive for a multi-disciplinary program comprising contributions with a wide range of theoretical and methodological approaches, including strictly theoretical work, game theory and formal modeling, statistical and econometric analysis, qualitative studies, and experiments. Programs and lists of participants of previous editions are available at
All abstracts (150-250 words) with a tentative title must be submitted by 30th January 2017.

Small grants can be provided to PhD students who need financial support to come to the Conference. To apply for the bursary, please mention it in your submission. Preference will be given to NEPS members.

PhD students are eligible for the Stuart A. Bremer Award. Eligible papers cannot be coauthored with a senior researcher. The winner is rewarded with a bursary to attend the conference of the Peace Science Society (International). If you are a PhD student, please
mention your status. List of previous winners is available at:

Those who are interested in participating should submit their proposal including abstract, title, author’s name(s), affiliation(s) to the following address:

Conference fees are set to: 90 for senior researchers (NEPS Members); 120 euros for senior
researchers (Non-Members); 50 euros for PhD students (NEPS Members); 60 euros for PhD
students (Non-Members).